I Love Magazines!

DSC_7436

Well, there you have it. The above are magazines I receive snail mail-wise. There are more, but I couldn’t get them all in the picture. It’s ridiculous I know, BUT there is a method to this madness. I get tons and tons and tons of info from these things.

For instance, you want to know something about how to describe that fab room where the antagonist of your current novel is planning his latest villainy? Check out ARCHITECTURAL DIGEST or VERANDA or what the hell, COUNTRY LIVING!

Travel? I got you covered with AFAR, a mag that discusses culture as well as place. Architecture?  Hey, check out the INTERIOR DESIGN, a New York based magazine that provides excellent articles on the concept, design, and construction of HUGE projects: corporate law offices, museums, university libraries, that sort of thing. I also subscribe to DWELL, but I didn’t get it in the picture…whoops. DWELL Mag loves the pre-fab structures, you know, tiny homes and all that.

Interested in a bit of computer futurism? Ancient humans, future of food? SCIENTIFIC AMERICAN always has something good to say, and short, understandable articles to boot. The same sort of thing with BIBLICAL ARCHEOLOGY. Where else can you find info on Solomon’s palace?

LAPHAM’S QUARTERLY is a unique journal. It features a “theme” with each issue and then provides a great deal of quotes, articles, stories, y0u name it, that pertain to the stated theme. Quite helpful.

I am somewhat sad to admit that THE SUN is the only literary magazine I receive. I do request copies of a journal/magazine before I submit a story. THE SUN is an old friend of mine, so hey there it is.

My point? I know mags cost money, but I am convinced it’s money well spent. Plus they aren’t soooo expensive. Well, OBJECT, is a bit, but I don’t subscribe. I get it whenever I remember to grab a copy at the local BAM. It’s wonderful–what can I say?

I even have a new magazine on the way. BIRDS AND BLOOMS. It’s a dandy. I mean what is that bird with the silver streak on its wings that I see only in late evenings…hmmm.

For us writers who maybe can’t jet about the world whenever the whim hits us. I’m a bit reluctant to drive my ailing fourteen year old Ford Ranger to Nashville for fear it might heat up and blow a  gusset on the way. sigh. So for me magazines are a great, albeit, vicarious way to explore the world.

How about it folks? Do any of you do the same? What mags do you recommend for the hard working writers out there?

Let me know!

 

 

 

 

 

24 thoughts on “I Love Magazines!

    1. paulabroome427 Post author

      It is enjoyable. I’ve always loved magazines, even when I was a kid. There’s something magical about those large pages full of color and life. When I flip through a magazine, say an Architectural mag, I’ll mark an article or page with a yellow stick-em or in some cases tear the page(s) out and put it in one of those plastic sleeves. I keep a notebook of this stuff. It’s easy to do and voila, you have instant access.

      Thanks!

      Like

      Reply
  1. ruminationville

    I love this! These days I don’t get magazines, but I do roam the Internet looking for bits of information I can use — like pecking at bits of stuff I can bring back to build my nest/story. These days I’m fascinated by Quora (I wrote about it, and you responded). The daily digest I receive is filled with material I may one day use (or not) — from the sublime (not too much of that in Quora) to the ridiculous. Leslie

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Deb

    What a fabulous idea, I never thought of that!! Very smart. I get Yoga journal cuz I keep saying that I’m going to start doing Yoga one of these days and Better Homes & Gardens…little did I know how much information and treasure were hiding inside…maybe I’ll actually open one up now!! 😉
    I get them but I never seem to have time to read them…but if I’m on the hunt now to add to a story I will most definitely keep them in mind!! Thanks for sharing that info!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. paulabroome427 Post author

      You know, I will sometimes do nothing but look at the pictures! But when I do find an interesting article, I TRY to remember to tear it out and then place the pages in clear, plastic protectors for future use. Room descriptions are often priceless.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Karina Pinella

    Impressive that you allot time to read mags. There was a time when I had quite a few myself, though not as many as yours! Alas, with all kinds of online articles and a great library I go to every weekend, I don’t feel the need to subscribe. I also don’t have as much time. Now that I’m blogging, I find that I’ve been doing more writing, which is good because that had been the objective all along. I still try to snatch some reading time, but it’s become borrowed time . . .

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. paulabroome427 Post author

      Well, I must admit I don’t read every word…whoops! I often flip through and look at pictures. BUT, I do find the descriptions of houses, furniture, furnishings, gardens and stuff like that to be very helpful with my writing. Plus, we don’t have a really good library nearby…sigh. I try to get writing done in the morning and then read in the afternoons and evening…with a lot of flexibility built in. Some days absolute no writing gets done, but even on those days, I’m mulling over stories while doing whatever it is that’s keeping from writing. Reading…yeah, I’m glad to hear you’re keeping up with reading a bit. That’s okay. Do what you have to do, right? Again, your blog is really great and inspirational if I may say so. Good work!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Robyn Elliot

    For me, was BBC Nature, National Geo, BBC History, New Statesman…and The Beano. A comic, I know, but let’s not split hairs. Good idea, Paul; as writers, we’re always looking for ways to get ideas/inspiration, are we not. Been a while since I did the magazine thing – expensive subscriptions and all that – but I do dig through gazillions of books, and online articles, for research, info and inspiration dust.

    Like

    Reply
    1. paulabroome427 Post author

      Yeah, I gotta admit, the expense is an issue. My wife raises an eyebrow every time I come bouncing in from the mailbox with several mags in my arms. Uh… But, I’m addicted… woefully addicted, so I’ll muddle on somehow. And hey, those nature mags are great. Thanks! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. RobinLK

    Paul,
    I love, love, looooove magazines, too! Always have, even in our evolving digital age…. right alongside newspapers. 😊

    When I was still in the classroom, I’d tell my juniors & seniors that ‘reading widely’ is an absolute must to expand one’s background knowledge AND vocabulary. We had a weekly reading class period that began with grumbles, but quickly turned into students’ favorite day in my class each week, saying, “We never have downtime to read cool stuff.” Every conceivable magazine and newspaper filled the classroom. Only rule: school-appropriate, please. It was high school, after all.

    At home, dozens of mags for the same reason as you… wonderful research for a writer. I even keep a magazine in my truck, to sneak a look while sitting in lines or at red lights. Read on, fellow mag buff… read on!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. paulabroome427 Post author

      Thank you Robin! Yeah, I gotta have my mags. I usually have one to leaf through while out on the porch. The British mags are my favorites, and I’m amazed at how much lit stuff comes around. So good for you, maybe you got more than a few young folks hooked on magazines. Oh, and the idea of having one in the truck is good! I’m gonna have to try that. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. Cally

    Really interesting post. I still collect my gardening and flower magazines, as there is nothing like the sound of the post being delivered and flicking the pages and that new magazine smell as well as the great articles of course. My husband still gets The Edge and it is a really informative and good value.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. paulabroome427 Post author

      Yeah, same here. I’m attracted to the visual aspect, but even more so to the incredible amount of info that you can’t get anywhere else. Oh, and The Edge is definitely a great mag.
      Thank you for the reply!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. Jessica

    Paul, this post made me laugh, because I thought I was the only one with a magazine obsession. My sister is looking for a magazine on gardens and landscaping, do you have any recommendations for her? We love looking at pictures of famous gardens and landscaping for really fancy houses that we can’t afford!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. paulabroome427 Post author

      Oh well, I’m right with you on this! I absolutely love my mags. My gardening magazine is The English Garden. It’s a treat. The photography is outstanding. The articles are well written and informative. They highlight famous historical gardens as well as local efforts and so forth and so on. It’s a bit pricey but worth it. The only other gardening magazine I receive is The Alabama Gardner. It goes a long way to help me figure out what’s going to thrive in our back yard! And believe me, I need all the help I can get. 🙂

      Hope this helps.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Jessica

        Yes! The English Garden looks like everything I’ve been looking for in a magzine — thank you! I’m going to spend my weekend combing through their website.

        Like

Leave a Reply

