Springtime and Fraility or Like a Bee to the Flower!

DSC_7575

Ah, the cherry blossoms, complete with bee! Here in Decatur, Alabama the cherry trees are in bloom, hence the above picture. I did not see the bee until I had posted the picture. I literally just took the picture. The cherry tree is one of several in our front yard. Okay, enough of that.

There have been a number of posts lately on the topic: from whence do ideas come? I thought I would devote a blog to that question. I’ve made that decision based on recent events here in “Our Town” Decatur. I’m afraid it’s not a pretty picture, but it is an incredible source for story ideas.

Yesterday it was reported in the local paper that several public school teachers have been charged with having a sexual relationship with students. Two male teachers were named and one female teacher.

The teachers haven’t been formally charged, but pending court hearing and all that, they have been put on official leave. An interesting side note. Professionals  were on the school campuses all day Monday to assist with trauma victims. Not one student nor faculty member spoke with them. The principal actually stated that everyone at the school was in a rather upbeat mood.

Hmmm, now if you can’t imagine a story out of THAT, then, well, I don’t know.

Now, I have absolutely no doubt that a YA, or literary, or fantasy, or suspense novel exists out there somewhere on this very topic. So what? Write another one. This is a veritable mother lode of possibilities. Here’s one possibility. The teacher is recovering from an emotional break-up/divorce. The said teacher opens up, as it were, to a favorite student, a student who is a good listener. A student who is seventeen, and the teacher is twenty-two…not a hell of an age difference. They make a bad decision. They are both wonderful people–everyone else is rotten.

My point here is that LIFE presents us with story ideas every day. Twenty writers could sit down and write a story based on the above, and each story would be different. One story portrays the vile mind of an adult predator. The next reflects the thin line between love and that simple, human need: compassion. Another  examines the possibility of evil that can dwell in the heart of a seventeen year old human. And yet another reports in chilling fashion the results of bad decisions.

We as writers know it’s not enough to say…”Well, they shouldn’t have done it.” Of course, they shouldn’t have done it. Give me a break. I shouldn’t have had that seventh cup of sake either, but…what the hell. We make mistakes and, poor humans, sometimes those mistakes are life-time errors.

Where do stories come from? Like that bee in the picture. I had no idea until I looked at the pic on my computer screen. Where did the bee come from? I have no idea, but there he is.

I love it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “Springtime and Fraility or Like a Bee to the Flower!

  1. Sha'Tara

    [quote] The teachers haven’t been formally charged, but pending court hearing and all that, they have been put on official leave. An interesting side note. Professionals were on the school campuses all day Monday to assist with trauma victims. Not one student nor faculty member spoke with them. The principal actually stated that everyone at the school was in a rather upbeat mood. [unquote]
    When I hear those sort of stories I immediately think, here we go again, some teen queens didn’t like their marks, or advances were rebuffed, or are prowling for notoriety and “sympathy” do the one thing the system encourages them to do: cry rape! Another side to these stories is, the “professionals” also need media attention to either keep their useless jobs, or get promotions, so with a little publicity, a little push here and there, they get the stories going, and who cares what lives get destroyed? It’s grist for the mill. It’s the American way after all: don’t take responsibility for your actions, you can always blame someone and with a system slanted your way, you come out ahead. Of course everyone is upbeat, as is, they don’t give a flying f**k – they know it’s BS from the word go. I’m sure John Grisham could come up with a book on this one… 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. Sha'Tara

    On the image… “It’s a UFO! No, it’s a drone! No, it’s a bee” “I thought bees were extinct!” “Yes, but this is a Killer Bee!” “Get the Raid!” Very pretty image, I like how sharply defined the flowers are – I can almost smell them.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  3. tomorrowdefinitely

    I think children/teenagers/young adults can be easily manipulated, especially by people who have power over them or they look up to in one way or another. Taking advantage of that trust/position of power and influence and engage in sexual relations with a minor is a criminal act. Considering how many rapes/sexual assaults don’t get reported or if they do, don’t result in criminal charges or a conviction is a tragic and deplorable reality. Bearing in mind how much courage it takes for a victim to speak out, they should always be listened to and taken seriously, or else the vicious cycle continues.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  4. paulabroome427 Post author

    Well thank you so much for those kind words. Yeah, the school incident has already died out of the news. It’s not so interesting after all. It takes a novelist to make it understandable, to give it meaning.

    While autumn is my favorite, I definitely love spring. The mornings are fresh and cool…perfect for writing!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Deb

    Alright, so first I thought you were going to talk about Spring and the beautiful cherry blossoms you have in your yard…how gorgeous! Then I thought you might talk about the “ghost” bee showing up in your picture of your beautiful cherry blossoms…but no you go and drink 7 sakes and then tell us how one story can be interpreted 20 different ways and that there are so many things to write about…what do I think? Brilliant!! 🙂
    I still think that’s a “ghost” bee in your pic and I just might write a story about that!!! Give Cody a hug & kiss from me…share one with your wife too!

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply
    1. paulabroome427 Post author

      Ha! You know, after I posted, I realized that my title and my blog and then my pic were all miles apart! Gaaaaa. So thank you for your great support.

      Now for the bee. You know, I took around five or six pictures of the tree and then downloaded them into the computer…even then I didn’t notice the bee. I chose that one because it was so clear and the sky so blue. I decided to crop a bit and that’s when I saw the bee…headed straight for the blossoms! What a guy! That’s what I love about nature photography. I’ve been surprised like that so many times. I think you are absolutely right. The ghost bee may be the entrance of an interesting story.
      Thanks again!

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
  6. Shadrack Agaki

    Paul it is amazing how writers reporting differ in opinions, I guess that is why we should be careful on whose opinion to take when it comes to personal development and the state of social justice in our communities.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. paulabroome427 Post author

      I absolutely agree. One instance I can never forget, nor do I wish to, is when Nelson Mandela was asked about his prison experience. He survived, as he recalled, because a white prison guard supplied him with a blanket for the freezing nights.

      Mandela said, “It all comes down to the individual.”

      I have found that to be true. Mobs are insanely dangerous because they rob people of their individuality. And so far as I’m concerned an educational board, a bank, a bunch of politicians, or an Army are not so different from a mob.

      Thank you for your comment. It’s good to hear from you.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Sha'Tara

        Every collective “force” is a mob with a title, it’s that simple. There is no such thing as a mob as it is projected, i.e., a wild group of leaderless crazies gone off the reservation: every mob has a leader. Is a family a mob? You bet it is, because it begins with the family, then becomes “blood” or “The Family” as in organized crime syndicates.” Every collective group has a ponerologist as its head, however minor the ponerology expressed. For most Earthians who are all parts of mobs (nuclear family unit, church, school, political party, organization, sports club and etc., ad nauseam) this is never (or very seldom) thought about because it’s how it is. Certain mobs are promoted as bona fide, and others are the enemy, a danger to society and must be crushed. When the ponorologists are fully in control of a group, that mob is institutionslized and the members are endlessly brainwashed into supporting it. Think religions; think politics and patriotism; think Wall Street; think Hollywood; think Chicago Black Hawks; think multinational corporations; think the military; think agencies; think police; think any recognized, registered power group – institutionalized mobs. When these mobs are stirred, violence ensues: that’s the warning bell. The answer to mobs is self-empowerment and compassion: the two most deadly poisons to the Matrix. How did we get from the bee to here again? 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

  7. milesmb3

    Wow! I had no idea you were from Decatur until I read this post. Most of my family are from Hillsboro, AL, so I’ve been through Decatur many-a-time.

    I love the idea of “the thin line between love and that simple, human need: compassion.” I also like how you connected this topic to that little bee. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. paulabroome427 Post author

      Yep! I’m sweltering down here in a little town right next to Decatur. Trinity, AL. I drive three miles and I’m in Decatur. I was born and raised in Nashville, then I moved to Mississippi where I worked for years and years, and five years ago met my wife and married and moved to Decatur! So you’re not only my blogger friend, your also my home girl, that’s all right.
      And thank you for the kind words. Oh, and the next you drive through, bring some cool air! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

