View from Japan (2)

img_4205

It’s been a challenging two weeks of walking in Japan so here I am soaking my feet in a public foot bath. They are wonderful!

The trip has been absolutely wonderful. My last post on Japan focused on the places we visited so this time I thought I’d put more pics of folks! First of all one of the things you learn when visiting Japan is that in the busy train stations one lines up on the right of the escalator. This allows anyone who is in a hurry to catch a train to run up on the free side. It’s a good system.

dsc_9656

Folks are often in a hurry not because they are late, but because they have little time between trains. Businessmen, a.k.a. salarymen, have to purchase a ticket then run for the train.

dsc_9663

If you do find yourself with some free time you can perhaps read. I noticed that many Japanese men and women do just that while waiting and riding the trains and busses.

dsc_9681

dsc_0496

 

dsc_0461

Speaking of books we visited several bookstores in Tokyo. I was as happy as a puppy in a dog biscuit factory!

img_5124

img_5125

img_5114

If reading leads you to meditate upon the insanity of the world then you can visit as we did the Bonsai Village in Saitama.

img_5204

img_5205

The greatest part though of coming to Japan is being with family. Sadako’s family are a remarkable bunch. We never fail to have a great time talking, laughing, enjoying each others’ company. Here’s sister-in-law and our two nieces working together to prepare our meal for the evening.

img_5231

Here is Masako’s kitchen. It’s a remodel and very nice. The cabinets have self-locking doors in case of an earthquake which in fact DID happen. We had a 7.4 mag earthquake two days ago. We were in Ogane, a small town in Tochigi Prefecture. It was my first earthquake and I still don’t know how to describe the sensation.

img_5338

Here I am with Sadako’s mother, Masako-san, who happens to be 82 years old. We’re heading out for our morning walk.

img_5241

And here I am with my dear, sweet wife, Sadako.  She doesn’t like her pictures, but this one she agreed to let me use. We’re in Osaka. Sadako does all the planning and scheduling. I’m constantly amazed at how well she puts these trips together.

img_5243

We did eat well as well. I’ve gotten to where I can eat and enjoy traditional Japanese dishes. The three things I can’t eat are raw squid (two rubbery), tofu, (zero taste), and natto, (just plain nasty). But I do like sushi!

img_5326

The above meal was great. I also love Okonomiyaki. see below!

okonomiyaki

We had the above at Masako-san’s house. It’s delicious. And of course I LOVE noodles, soba and ramen. Below is ramen with a side dish of fried rice.

img_5121

I hope you enjoyed these pictures. We have had a terrific time and tomorrow we catch the ride home! So here’s a final pic. I don’t know who this woman is but she is a perfect example of the fact that you’re never too old to have fun!

dsc_0392

 

51 thoughts on “View from Japan (2)

  1. Jessica M

    Absolutely beautiful pictures, what a pleasure to see the culture and history of my heritage. I especially love the food pictures! I know I would feel so much at home there. It must be so different there! My brother just went there recently, and your pictures are so much nicer! I think he’s too young (or Americanized) to appreciate the beauty of it there. My father always got a kick whenever he went there — being 6′ tall, all he ever saw was a sea of black heads on the train and in the streets!

    Earthquakes are definitely… a unique experience! Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. Paul Post author

      And thank you for reading. I agree. I think travel demands an openness that youth doesn’t always provide. I remember when a nephew of mine traveled to Europe and did nothing but play pin ball machines…sigh. The food is astounding. I love it when you enter a izakaya small the cook welcomes you and you respond. There’s a closeness that is often lacking in our larger franchise restaurants.
      We had another quake this morning at the airport in Tokyo. Whew, two in three days. It is something to write home about! Thanks again for a great response.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Jessica M

        Glad you’re back safe and sound. Thank you for sharing your time with us! It’s always very interesting to see the world from another set of eyes. It’s a big place, and so amazing.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Bea dM

    I’m so glad I started following your blog! Your description of “real” travelling – not just the tourist trap parts – makes it so authentic and feels like being along with you. Thank you so much, and Happy Thanksgiving on your return 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Paul Post author

      Thank you. We got home this afternoon. Tired but happy. I’m already missing Japan! We had a nice Thanksgiving dinner with Sadako’s sister. She and her two kids are going to Japan in late December.
      Thank you so much for your support. I’m really glad you enjoyed the pictures.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. spearfruit

    Paul, thank you very much for your wonderful posts from Japan. And how lovely is Sadako’s family – I am very glad you, Sadako and the family had a enjoyable visit. Sate travels back home my friend and Happy Thanksgiving. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Deb

    Wow Paul thanks for sharing the pics and lifestyle in Japan. That must have been scary experiencing the earthquake and that was a powerful one!! I too would love both the ramen noodles and the fried, not sure I could get used to raw fish. I do like some cooked fish. The trees are so colorful in that last picture of that woman having fun!! Sounds like you two have had fun also, I bet Sadako enjoyed being home to visit with her family!! Interesting was that book store in the alley and those Bonsai trees are gorgeous! Safe travels back home. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. exoticnita54

        Hey 👋.. please do..
        so glad had a really good time..
        and thanks for sharing your experience with us..

        It’s always so nice to see another country though the eyes 👀 of someone like you .. who visited and could appreciate all that it has to offer…

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Mary Job

    Wow, beautiful family, Grandma is Bae, your wife is beautiful, more than you, hehehehe, give her my love and regards and tell her i am glad i now have an Aunt from another grandma and i look forward to meeting her soon. I always wondered why i seem so connected with the Japanese, the beauty is WOW. Oh my look at all those books, the flowers, the orderliness. simply WOW.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. Paul Post author

      Thank you for your sweet and kind words. My wife’s family is just wonderful. I’ll be sure to show your response to Sadako. She’ll be soooo happy! Especially that part about being beautiful! 🙂
      Thanks again Mary, Your’re Great!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. sepultura13

    Lovely photos – I’m glad to see you and your family! Masako-san is a beautiful lady…I would not have guessed that she’s 82! Fantastic.

    I’m envious of the delicious food…and fresh sushi! I’m a freak for sushi, but I don’t eat raw squid, either – there are a few dishes that I would politely decline, I think…
    😉

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. Paul Post author

      Sorry to be so late in responding. Oh, yeah, I do have to very politely decline some dishes as well…:-) But, Masako-san is so wonderful, as all mothers are…or should be…and she tries her best to cook food that will agree with her American son-in-law. I’m extremely grateful. . 🙂 We’re already planning our next trip to the land of the rising sun. Probably next “late” December and into the New Year. Celebration of the New Year is big in Japan, and Sadako wants me to experience that holiday! Hey, I’m good to go! Thanks for reading and responding!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. sepultura13

        Oh, that sounds like a lot of fun – New Year’s celebrations are always awesome, but they are definitely bigger in some countries than others! That holiday should be fantastic…I’m looking forward to your posts and pictures of it, when you go!
        Nice talking with you – have a great week!
        🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Paul Post author

      And thank you for the kind words. We had a great time. We’ve been back home now for almost two weeks…sigh. Already I miss Japan! The good news is that we’ve both gotten past our jet lag and moved back in to Alabama time!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. poetsjasmineblog

    I loved this post. Another great one from you. Your wife is pretty. 🙂
    I really admired the last photo. It was both hilarious and heartwarming.
    Yum, all the dishes look amazing!
    And such an awesome family!
    I loved all the pics. Please write more about Japan.
    Foot bathes, book shops, bonsai, Japanese earthquake-proof buildings and people being considerate by standing on the right side of the escalators melted my heart and soul.
    Thank you for penning down such a wondrous article. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Paul Post author

      Oh thank you! I’m very glad that you found so much to treasure and enjoy. I will post more on Japan, no doubt about that! I’m still smiling from your wonderful response. You’ve made my day!
      Thank you so much! thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. Paul Post author

      Hahaha. Thank you! I was that happy! I have to say, I love Japan. I feel so very comfortable there and the people are so very good and decent. Sadako will love your comment. 🙂 thank you so much!

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
  8. A Girl that Blah 👅

    Well Paul, am speechless. How amazingly you pen down each detail of your trip. It was like as if I was travelling down the lane in Tokyo.

    I also, feel that its good to get connected on a global platform. Like I would love to stay at someone’s place in Japan than stay in hotel.

    Would love to know about you?

    Regards.
    Shaurya Shukla
    #AGirlThatBlah

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Paul Post author

      Hey Shaurya!
      Thank you so much for the lovely response! Yeah, I love Japan. It is beyond wonderful. And Tokyo! What can I say? It’s an incredible city. You can be in the midst of thousands of workers, students, travelers, whatever and in a matter of minutes find yourself in a park…a quiet, secluded, misty park, seemingly a thousand miles from civilization. Japan is a never-ending source of wonder and delight. We go at least once a year. I hope to live there eventually.

      But, I love your blog! It’s full of life and color and great positive vibes. So thank you so much for your interest. I’m glad we’ve met! :-). I look forward to your blogs!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. Paul Post author

      Thank you so much. And Happy New Year to you. We did have a great trip to Japan. I love the country, the people, the culture. I’m glad you enjoyed the pictures.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

